Seabourn Odyssey to Indonesia 2014

image

This is the home page for all posts related to my November/December trip featuring a 12-night Singapore to Indonesia cruise on Seabourn Odyssey.  To be updated with all related posts and external social media links before, during, and after the trip.

Trip posts (in chronological order, not posting order):

Plotting, scheming, and planning

Cathay Pacific First Class – San Francisco to Hong Kong

Singapore Taxis

Grand Hyatt Singapore

The Suite Life on Seabourn

Sunrise Sail In to the Jakarta Harbor – a “Seabourn moment”

Jakarta with Tours by Locals

Semarang – Part I – Prambanan and Jogjarkarta

Manohara Resort Center for Buddhist Study

Semarang – Part II – The Majesty of Borobudur

Surabaya with Blue Bird

Surabaya’s New Cruise Terminal

Mount Bromo & Probolinggo  (Jen Versus the Volcano)

Hidden Northern Bali (Celukan Bawang) with Virtuoso Voyager Club

How to Tame Your Komodo Dragon

plus (still to come)…

– Seabourn sea days, food and dining, and onboard life

– Sheraton Hong Kong Hotel and Towers

Related content:

A Retro Cathay First Trip Report (April 2002)

I hate travel planning

Six things to consider about shore excursions

Five things I love about small ship cruising

Mosque Etiquette (a guest post from Muslim Travel Girl)

A Recovery Plan for Marathon Travel

Giveaway: Cathay Pacific Ipa-Nema Vintage Amenity Kits

* Giveaway 1 –  (ended 11/28/14)

* Giveaway 2(ended 12/5/14)

Itinerary:

  • Day 1 – Thursday, November 20 – Dallas-Fort Worth to San Francisco on American Airlines, San Francisco to Hong Kong on Cathay Pacific
  • Day 2 – Friday, November 21 –  crossing the international dateline
  • Day 3 – Saturday, November 22 – Hong Kong to Singapore on Cathay Pacific, evening out in Singapore, overnight Grand Hyatt Singapore
  • Day 4 – Sunday, November 23 – embarking Seabourn Odyssey in Singapore
  • Day 5 – Monday, November 24 – day at sea
  • Day 6 – Tuesday, November 25 – day at sea
  • Day 7 – Wednesday, November 26 – Tanjung Priok (Jakarta), private tour with Tours With Locals
  • Day 8 – Thursday, November 27 – Semarang – private tour with Abercrombie & Kent (Prambanan & Jogjakarta), overnight at Manohara Resort Center for Buddhist Studies
  • Day 9 – Friday, November 28 – Semarang, private tour with Abercrombie & Kent (Borobudur)
  • Day 10 – Saturday, November 29 – Surabaya, private self-guided tour with Blue Bird
  • Day 11 – Sunday, November 30 – Probolinggo, private tour with Asia World  to Mt. Bromo
  • Day 12 – Monday,  December 1 – Cekulan Bawang (Bali), small group tour with Virtuoso Voyager Club
  • Day 13 – Tuesday, December 2 – day at sea
  • Day 14 – Wednesday, December 3 – Komodo Island, Short Trek group tour with Seabourn
  • Day 15 – Thursday, December 4 – Benoa/Denpasar (Bali), private touring with local driver
  • Day 16 – Friday, December 5 – disembarking Seabourn Odyssey in Bali, overnight Grand Hyatt Bali
  • Day 17 – Saturday, December 6 – Bali, private cooking class at Mozaic, overnight Grand Hyatt Bali
  • Day 18 – Sunday, December 7 – Bali – Denpasar to Hong Kong on Cathay Pacific, overnight Sheraton Hong Kong Hotel and Towers
  • Day 19 – Monday, December 8 – Hong Kong to Los Angeles on Cathay Pacific, Los Angeles to Dallas on American Airlines